The Countdown

Today was Charlie’s last Early Intervention appointment ever. She has aged out of the program and is on to bigger kid things.

In a week, Charlie will be three. Over time, anniversary season has become easier for me. I remember the dates but I don’t obsess over them. Nor is anticipation or anxiety linked to the days. They come and go like most.

For example, I signed and dated a form. When I saw the date, I realized it was the anniversary of my admission to the high risk perinatal unit. After a few seconds pause, I went about my day and didn’t really think about it again.

While this time of year is definitely easier than years past, I haven’t escaped the emotion of anniversary season. My mood is pensive. Additionally, I find that I have little patience for non sense, people who are jerks, and life’s other irritations.

To cope with this, I’ve been avoiding crowds (even more so than usual) and focus my restlessness on yard work. I pulled weeds while Charlie played in her sand box. I trimmed bushes as she splashed in her baby pool. I assembled a wheel barrow when she napped.

It feels like twenty years since her birth and fifteen since I started this blog. It’s only a matter of days until Charlie is three and I hit publish on my final post.

11261799_10102377317204139_4177527801373148778_n

Charlie watches fish in the water.

 

 

 

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

6 responses to “The Countdown

  • babylossmama

    Wait, you’re ending your blog when Charlie turns three? Say it ain’t so!!

    Like

    • Rebecca Wood

      Awww, that’s a nice reaction. Since the beginning, I knew blogging was a temporary thing for me. Also, I want Charlie to have her privacy as she gets older. However, I keep a much less formal version of a blog on the March of Dimes Share Your Story site. I plan to keep up with that.

      Like

    • Susan Embry-Busch

      I think your blog is wonderful. You post the most amazing stories of inspiration and realism. I have been the mom of a preemie for coming up to 14 years in a week and a half (6/6) and still am inspired to keep up the good fight. Perhaps turning this into a different type of blog would be the answer…just a thought. I think a lot of people depend on you. I was part of the creation and on the first board of directors for an organization that supports preemie families. While the credit goes to others…in particular one great mom, for making it the non-profit it is today, and while her preemie is the same age as mine, it helps so many families navigate the NICU jungle. Perhaps focusing on preemies as they get older might be something to think about. Like I said in my note last week, it doesn’t end when they leave the NICU, they just face different types of challenges, most of which new parents have no concept of. Regardless, yours has been a wonderful blog to follow. I would like to contribute about what I spoke of before you close down. I think it will make parents think. Thank you for what you have done and Charlie is beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  • Adrianne

    I will also miss your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

