Blogtober Day 8 Challenge: Just Your Average Bag

Woo hoo! It’s Day 8 of the DC Ladies Blogtober and I’ve somehow managed to keep up! Today’s challenge is to write about and photograph what’s in my bag.

I’m going to admit, it feels odd to write a blog post exclusively about the bags I carry in my day to day life. But, here it goes…

I typically carry a messenger bag and a diaper bag. It seems excessive but the tactic is the easiest way for me to stay organized and manage everything.

I will start with the easiest. The diaper bag contains typical items such as diapers, wipes, a change of clothes, formula, and sippy cups. Depending on the time of day or length of the visit, I can take or leave it in the car as needed.

My messenger bag, on the other hand,  is my survival bag and it goes everywhere.

10626844_10101986485394219_7011953680130035598_nThere are the expected items such as keys, wallet, and phone. While I have never worn makeup (note: I will need help if Charlie ever wants to wear make up), I’m a big lip gloss fan and always have a tube handy.

Maybe, a little more unique are the health/medical items. I carry oral syringes to administer Charlie’s medication ( which is kept refrigerated in an insulated lunch box) while we are out. Additionally, I consistently carry hand sanitizer. Charlie is doing well. But a cold, the flu, or an illness are dangerous for her preemie lungs.

The Tums, naproxen, and inhaler are mine. I’ve had an ongoing moderate issue with asthma since my pregnancy. After three spine surgeries and an inevitable fourth in the future, I live with chronic pain. It is the reason I walk as much as I do. I think it is also the reason why I feel like I need to stay on top of things with Charlie’s health. I don’t want her to end up like me.

The remaining items: the coloring book, crayons, Kindle, and ear buds are for the long waits. I spend A LOT of time waiting for things like doctors, therapy, clinics, and prescriptions. These items keep those waits incident free and peaceful.

After surveying the contents of my bag, I realize it is rather ordinary. I think what I wish was in my bag would be more interesting.

In my wishful bag dump, I would find plane tickets to Nairobi or keys to an RV.

What’s in your bag? What do you wish was in your bag?

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “Blogtober Day 8 Challenge: Just Your Average Bag

  • Jackie

    I love seeing what other people have in their purses because I am nosy 🙂 Thanks for sharing! I shared mine at muddlingmomma.com as well.
    As for the makeup – it reminded me of the Full House episode where DJ started junior high and put on makeup for the first time and she looked like a showgirl. I worried if I had a girl I wouldn’t know how to do her hair because my mom has stick straight hair and mine was always curly, so she couldn’t figure it out, so I never did.
    Thank God for YouTube tutorials!

    Like

  • Michelle Stevens

    As a preemie mom, my bag sounds somewhat similar to yours (although I only carry a diaper bag — no messenger bag for me!). I’d be happy to help Charlie in the makeup front when you’re both ready for that. I love makeup and even go to makeup fashion shows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

