I Scream, You Scream, Charlie Speaks For Ice Cream

I had a feeling it was going to be a great semester for Charlie’s speech. I knew in the second week that Charlie’s student therapist understood Charlie. As sweet and cute as Charlie is, she is highly energetic and difficult to focus (more so than most two year olds).  She can be a handful.

By the second week, the student therapist had learned to work with Charlie amazingly well. I was impressed.

1453350_10101950823341259_9180193376241819998_n_edited

This is what part of the screen looks like when I watch from the observation room.

For most sessions, I sit in the observation room with the other parents and watch the session over the cameras on a computer screen. I did this initially in case Charlie became unruly or melted down. I wanted to be able to rescue the student therapist if needed. Now, I just sit there, read, and occasionally glance up at the screen.

What goes on during speech therapy? A variety of play activities. Each semester, I’m always impressed by the students.

If Charlie starts to run circles in the room, the student therapist patiently says, “Oh, you need to run? OK, lets go to the sensory room and bounce on the trampoline.” While Charlie bounces, the student therapist sings a song about bouncing with her.

In another activity, Charlie pretends to shop and has to ask for each item she wants to put in the cart. In Charlie’s favorite activity, she plays basketball where she has to ask for the ball and to be lifted up to the hoop with “Want up!”.

Last session, she played a considerable amount of time with a fake ice cream cone. I noticed it when I looked up at the screen. I thought it was odd because Charlie has never really had ice cream. She gets the non dairy stuff when we go get ice cream. Not the type of ice cream she was playing with while learning to say “ice cream”.

Later that evening, Charlie, Charlie’s dad, and I grabbed a quick bite to eat. After we were finished, we passed the yogurt store where Charlie gets her non dairy treat. She pointed and exclaimed, “W-want ice cream! Ice cream!”

I was stunned.

We actually understood what she was saying! How did she make the connection that her non dairy treat in a cup was the same as that creamy looking cone she played with earlier?

We were obligated to follow our rule. If Charlie uses her words to ask for something, she gets it. She got her non dairy version of ice cream that evening.

Overall, I’ve noticed significant improvement with her speech. Charlie experiments more with two word phrases such as “Bye daddy!” and we can understand more of what she says.

Feeding is finally moving forward as well. With the introduction of erythromycin, she eats more than two bites, doesn’t vomit, and her reflux is gone. She still has difficulty tolerating some textures and with chewing food. However, I’m relieved that she is no longer stuck.

1743486_10101952861232309_1746776597342038388_n (1)

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

5 responses to “I Scream, You Scream, Charlie Speaks For Ice Cream

  • Christine

    That’s awesome! Way to go Charlie!

    Like

  • LindaGHill

    Wow! That’s amazing! I’m so happy for you, and for Charlie! Way to go! 😀

    Like

  • theblackberryboys

    That is great news! Ice cream is good for alot of things 🙂

    Like

  • J

    Wow wow wow! Awesome rule and go Charlie! Ice cream (or the non dairy kind) sure is amazing – and so is Charlie.

    Like

  • Anonymous

    According to my mom, when I was two weeks shy of turning 2 and first starting to talk, we drove past an ice cream place during a road trip, and I–who had only ever had frozen yogurt, which my parents NEVER called ice cream–caught sight of it and screamed from the back seat “ICE CREAM! YAAAAY!” To this day, my mother doesn’t know which shocked her more: that I knew the word/phrase “ice cream” or that I knew enough to associate it with the frozen yogurt I was used to. (She doesn’t recall whether or not I was then given the treat.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

