All Quiet On The Royal Front

I haven’t had the urge to blog lately. I want to say it is due to lack of happenings. However, that’s not true. There is just as much occurring now as ever. Therefore, I think the change may be in me. Those big emotions are not stirred up on an almost daily basis. I may be settling into my normal.

Oh, insurance does not want to cover a medical necessity? I’m used to that. What’s that? The medicaid waiver process is a giant snafu? I kind of expected it. Are those people judging us as we go about our routine? Shrugged off. Another diagnosis? I saw it coming.

Don’t mistake me. Like anyone, some days are better than others for me. I do struggle from time to time. I continue to feel disconnected from the “regular” parenting world. But, those powerful consuming emotions are not an every day thing anymore. Maybe, more of a once or twice a week kind of thing.

The dust is finally settling after our world was rocked by Charlie’s premature arrival.

On a side note: Today was the first day that I looked at Charlie and saw a little girl instead of a baby. I don’t care what people say. This time did not fly by. It felt like the longest two years of my life.

I happily tossed out the bottles (she takes her formula through a sippy cup now). I was thrilled to take the rail off of her crib. I look forward to the (very far off) day without diapers.

Bye bye baby and hello little girl!

Taken earlier today.

Taken earlier today.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “All Quiet On The Royal Front

  • Michelle

    No rails on the crib? What a huge milestone! Has Charlie gotten out of her bed and climbed into yours yet? In addition, congratulations on graduating to the sippy cup! That’s awesome news and worthy of celebration! Thinking of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

