Charlie’s Big Week Ahead

Charlie doesn’t know it but next week is a big week in her world.

First, we are taking her to see her favorite Sesame Street character, Elmo, at Busch Gardens. I wanted to take her to see Elmo since the weather warmed up. Things such as schedules and finances finally worked out so we can take her this upcoming week.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t excited.

10386759_10101741421309609_7489998055083846864_n

Next, Charlie is being freed from her crib. I want to say she is moving to a big girl bed. In reality, she’s having the front rail taken off of her crib to make a toddler day bed.

Most of my friends have posted on Facebook the day their kid first climbed out of the crib. I planned on keeping Charlie in her crib until she reached that day.

However, Charlie keeps getting stuck in the bars of her crib as she tries to get out. Nap time is frequently interrupted by Charlie’s desperate cries for help. She finds new and inventive ways to become trapped.

A couple of times, I considered breaking a bar to free her. Charlie hasn’t realized that, try as she might, she will not escape the crib through the bars.

Part of me is a little sad that we don’t get to have that moment of when she does finally climb out of the crib. The sadness is short lived because my mind is busy figuring out the logistics of this change.

I have additional concerns on top of those concerning bedding and Charlie staying in bed. Her room, although currently childproof, will have to become Charlie proof. She likes to pull the clothes and diapers out of her drawers, dump the laundry basket, and carry out whatever other mischief she can invent. Her room will be rearranged.

Next week is a big week for Charlie. I can’t wait to see how it all plays out.

10552533_10101822132987759_2925008518101329650_n_edited

Charlie visited Sky Meadows State Park today and enjoyed the gorgeous weather.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “Charlie’s Big Week Ahead

Leave a Reply

