My Favorite Sound

Charlie joined me today as I picked through a clearance sale at the mall. She pretended she was looking for clothes and rifled through the racks beside me. After she became bored, she played peek a boo with anyone that looked her way.

A sales lady got sucked into a game of peek a boo with Charlie. As the laughter from both sides died down, the lady asked Charlie what her name was. Charlie smiled at the lady, fidgeted with her hair, squirmed, and remained silent. The pause in the conversation became uncomfortable. I jumped in and answered for Charlie.

The lady asked, “How old are you Charlie?” Charlie answered with babble. The lady looked somewhat surprised to hear a toddler babble. I disclosed, “She doesn’t talk yet.”

I’ve been cranky and exhausted from this past week.

I was too tired to explain Charlie’s early arrival. I didn’t have the patience to hear a stranger’s awkward remarks upon receiving the information. I was not in the mood to discuss diagnoses and how we hope she will one day “catch up”.

I just wanted to find some deeply discounted clothes and get out of there.

Speech, like feeding, is one of those skills that Charlie struggles with. The good news is that she is improving. While she continues to babble, Charlie now has twenty eight words.

Among those words are “hop” for help, “Melmo” for Elmo, bye-bye, eat, and happy. Sometimes when Charlie is having fun she repeats “Happy, happy, happy, happy, happy…” with a huge grin. I’m nearly brought to tears each time she does it.

However, Charlie started using my personal favorite word a few weeks ago… mommy.

Charlie learned to say her name a few weeks ago as well.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “My Favorite Sound

Leave a Reply

