NICU Reunion: Take Two

10492524_10101775114538109_8279231079749444152_n (1)We did it! Today, Charlie and I attended our second annual NICU reunion. Despite my reservations, it was certainly easier the second time around.

Charlie and I arrived and said our initial hellos. Then, I grabbed a seat out in the courtyard under the shade of a tree and watched from the sidelines as Charlie wandered around close by.

There were several children’s activities available but Charlie chose to obsess over the storm drain in the center of the courtyard. She laughed and clapped as she walked back and forth over the drain. Eventually, she found the mulch more interesting and occupied the rest of her play time by tossing it in the air.

Afterwards, we saw Charlie’s primary nurse. It was tough but I stuck to my promise that I wouldn’t cry this year. We talked while the other nurses passed around Charlie and doted over her. Charlie flirted shamelessly.

My friend graciously supplied this picture (and permission) for this post.

My friend graciously supplied this picture (and permission for its use).

Today, had a very different feel.  The memories and emotions were not as intense. However, the hospital food was just as bad as I remember it.

It wasn’t long before we had enough and it was time to leave. My NICU mom friend and her daughter joined us for lunch afterwards at a near by restaurant.

Overall, I’m glad we attended this year’s reunion. Last year, I was still reeling from the relatively fresh news that Charlie had bigger issues than expected. This year, I’ve figured out how to roll with what is thrown at us. And Charlie… well, she’s never given up and it shows.

10514740_316519145173218_4729251133520160262_n_edited

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “NICU Reunion: Take Two

  • steevbeed

    The storm drain looks neat though…. and mulch, don’t get me started.
    Seriously, well done to you, I have never been able to go back to the hospital we were at, visiting the same city makes me feel clammy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

