Pumping, Consultants, and Latching… Oh My!

Let me be clear, I am not a lactivist. As long as people feed their child adequately, I don’t care how the job gets done. Life is too complicated to insist that there is only one correct way to do something.

In my situation, breastfeeding did not work out. But, I know many women who have been helped by lactation consultants and were able to breastfeed.

My dear friend, Sally, has asked me to pass along this survey concerning lactation consultants. If you’ve ever breastfed (including if you ever pumped) and used a lactation consultant, please take a moment to complete the survey.

Now that the survey has been addressed, I have a question. I am curious. What were other NICU parents’ experiences like with pumping?

We found a playground with a balance beam to work on Charlie's core strength.

Today, we found a playground with a balance beam to work on Charlie’s core strength.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

6 responses to “Pumping, Consultants, and Latching… Oh My!

  • Amy 2boys1mum

    Hello! I was only in NICU for one hour (long story you can read more about on my blog. Search for Christmas miracle)
    But that was undoubtedly the worst hour of my life.

    My (turns out perfectly healthy) little boy, on day 2 of his life was shoved unceremoniously into an incubator he didn’t fit (he was 10lb 6oz!) and the nurse started preparing to give him an NG tube and asking what formula he was on because I’d need to leave soon. My perfectly healthy baby who had been 100% breastfed and was latching and feeding perfectly.
    I had a syringe of hand expressed colostrum because they had starved him for the ambulance trip. The nurse took me to a pumping room, told me he’d had to have formula as I “wasn’t making enough milk for him”. She had never seen a large baby born at 41wks and assumed his flaky skin on hands was major dehydration despite him being on 150% maintenance IV fluids for 48hrs. Then she told me to pump “if I must” and left to find formula, against my wishes. I said I’d rather a syringe to hand express as milk hadnt come in yet. She laughed and said “see!? What’s the point expressing then?”.
    20 mins later blood tests revealed he was perfectly fine and I self-discharged him. It was the worst hour of my life.

    Like

  • zerodoll

    My little guy was only (it’s all relative!) six weeks early and weight 6 pounds so we were pretty lucky in that regard. I knew from my previous baby that I would need to pump and what size flange to ask for so I just pumped and pumped and pumped and used the walk to the NICU to recover from the c-section. They didn’t allow me to breastfeed him at first and worried about his blood sugar so they gave him a bit of formula but after the first day or so, he only had breast milk, via bottle. I pumped in my room and I’m pretty sure everyone on the hospital staff saw my chest at some point but I wanted to make it work for my baby.

    Like

  • Anonymous

    Sorry, this has nothing to do with anything, but I just wanted you to know: I needed a pick-me-up today, and so I headed over here to see Charlie. Not because of what she has accomplished (even though that’s awesome), or because you continue to fight so well for her (ditto), but because she is just one of the cutest kids I’ve ever seen in my life. And so often smiling! (And no, I don’t think she’s so cute because–or in spite–of the fact that she looks so young. I think she’s so cute because she just is!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

