Now You Are Two

Day of BirthTwo years ago, a nurse directed me to call your daddy. “Are we having the baby today?” I asked. She answered, “If I were you, I would want my husband here.”

We found out later, she chose her words carefully because they weren’t sure you were going to survive.

Two years ago, you were delivered at twenty six weeks. You weighed only 790 grams.

I was told how, with your eyes still fused shut, you surprised everyone with a mighty cry.

NICU Preemie Card_editedTwo years ago, I saw your picture for the very first time. Later in the day, the NICU nurses sent a card of your prints with a note that said “For my mommy”.

I cried when I first saw it.

Two years ago, I held the print card while propped up in my hospital bed and thought “Holy crap! I’m someone’s mom.”

I couldn’t wait to meet you… the baby that amazed everyone.

Two years ago, everything changed. Although the ride has been bumpy with many twists and blind turns, we figured out how to see past our challenges, learned to let go of what should be, and discovered how to love what is.

I’d do everything all over again, and more, to get to you.

Happy Birthday Charlie, today you are two.

 

10299939_10101709749874419_2103556964860083055_n

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “Now You Are Two

Leave a Reply

