We Did It!

A quick post tonight because I’m tired. I’m happy to report Charlie and I attended my friend’s baby shower. It was a very nice party. Overall, things went well. However, there were a few strange moments for me.

First, I had to get over the feeling of being the elephant in the room. Like it or not, I am a shining example of one of the many ways things can go wrong. I don’t think people notice or cared as much as I was self conscious of it.

Second, because of the noise, excitement, and another kid pushed her down twice, Charlie became disorganized. When this happens, her feeding is terrible. I carry formula in the car for such occurrences.

It’s obvious that Charlie is too old for a bottle, I hate feeding her a bottle in front of other people. I ease my nerves by reminding myself at least it’s not an NG tube and chuckle to myself.

Third, it was strange hearing the other women reminisce about their pregnancies. I have no pregnancy stories or memories to share. Or rather, none that anyone would want to hear.

We did end up leaving early. But, it was due to Charlie starting to melt down and her desperate need for a nap.

Later in the evening, I drove back from the store and thought about the significance of the day. Two years since everything suddenly changed. I wasn’t paying attention to my speed until I saw the flashing lights in my rear view mirror.

At first, I was annoyed at myself for being so careless. As I watched the officer write up my ticket, I thought, “If this is the worst thing that happens today, I am lucky and it is a pretty good day.”

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “We Did It!

  • steevbeed

    Glad you had a good time. Shame about the ticket though.

    Like

  • Tales of a Twin Mombie

    Boo for tickets. Charlie is very blessed to have you as a mom. I can only imagine how difficult it is when you go to events like that and find it hard to connect to birth stories or even little things other little ones can do that Charlie can’t yet. She is a little trooper though and such a beauty! Her “story” may be different than the rest but she is a little ball of sunshine it seems, that must brighten up the darkest of days. Xoxo

    Like

  • P

    Way to go! You did it! I bet no one on the outside could tell what a difficult and momentous day this was for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

