I Don’t Mind The Labels

At this point in her journey, Charlie has racked up quite a few diagnoses. They range from spastic diplegia to a feeding disorder. Her doctors do their best to deliver the news gently and with care. But, by the time they are mentioned, I am relieved.

horseI am Charlie’s mommy. I know what she can do well and what she struggles with. I’m the first one to realize when there is a concern. When Charlie receives a diagnosis, the doctors are merely naming what I have already known for some time. I also realize that a diagnosis does not define her or set limits.

Sometimes its tough but, receiving a diagnosis can be helpful. They are tools. Insurance will more readily approve services for a diagnosed condition rather than the generic term “delay”. Additionally, understanding the reason for a delay can aid in overcoming it and identifying the right therapeutic strategy.

The labels do not bother me. They are not who Charlie is or will grow to be. Only she knows how far she can go. I have no plans of letting a label stop her. My job as her mommy is helping her reach her potential and find her place in the world.

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “I Don’t Mind The Labels

  • C

    How wonderfully said! We are still early in our preemie journey, but I am quite certain you are right – parents truly do know their kids best, and while of course no one hope for delays and other issues, officially identifying and issue allows it to better be addressed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

