I’m Not A Doctor But I Play One When I Call The Pediatrician’s Office

For a couple of hours last night, Charlie screamed in pain. Other than when she was rehospitalized, I had not heard her scream in pain and it terrified me. She didn’t pull at her ears, touch her head, gnaw on her hand, rub anywhere on her body, nor provide any clues to what the problem was. There was no fever.  She simply screamed hysterically.

I spoke with the on call doctor last night. I explained how Charlie had behaved unusually through out the day and it culminated in the screaming. We discussed if and when she needed to be seen in the ED. The doctor suggested ways to remedy the pain and get her through the night. She explained that it is a tough situation to figure out without examining Charlie. Furthermore, she recommended that Charlie be seen in the office the next day (today).

This morning, I called for an appointment. The office staff asked, “What does the child have?” I answered, “She’s been screaming in pain. I don’t know the source.” The office staff suggested, “It is her ears then?” Frustrated, I took a deep breath and said, “I don’t know. It could be her ears, her stomach, or any other number of things. My baby is in pain and I need help figuring it out.”

“Ma,am, what do you think the problem is?” was the response. Was this a mind game? If I knew, I wouldn’t need help figuring it out and fixing it. The office staff once again suggested that it was the ears. I relented, “Fine, it’s the ears.” At this point, I would say anything to end the conversation that was going nowhere.

She provided me with an appointment time for this afternoon and I promptly hung up. I’m not a doctor but I’m expected to be one to schedule an appointment.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

5 responses to “I’m Not A Doctor But I Play One When I Call The Pediatrician’s Office

Leave a Reply

