Out Of Left Field

Last week, Charlie’s peripheral manifestations (muscle spasticity in arms and legs) intensified with seemingly no rhyme or reason. At first, I wrote it off as a bad day. I thought she may have been tired or it was the result of a growth spurt. However, it continued over several days. When Charlie chose to crawl rather than walk yesterday, I knew there was more to the issue.

10156073_10101626491704459_480394385_n (1)_editedDuring our outings last week, Charlie carried her arm curled up against her chest and dragged her right leg. I am used to seeing that when Charlie is stressed or tired. It was unusual to see it consistently throughout the day. The following therapy sessions, I asked her therapists for insight. They were as perplexed as I was.

Charlie was her usual happy self despite her body’s betrayal.

The unusual posture and gait continued through the weekend. At yesterday’s speech therapy, I noticed Charlie hardly used her right arm. After therapy, Charlie chose to crawl rather than walk.

I was baffled. She felt poorly enough that crawling was the best option. Yet, she was as pleasant as usual.

Over the course of all this, I exchanged emails with her developmental pediatrician (the clinic is two hours away). We discussed whether or not she should have an MRI. Little kids like Charlie need to be sedated so the imaging involves more complexities than merely an MRI.

With the MRI question in mind, I took Charlie to her regular pediatrician this morning. Based on past experience, Charlie does not communicate when she is ill. I wanted to rule out illness. Additionally, I had more questions that I knew the pediatrician could answer.

Lo and behold, Charlie has another ear infection. There was no fever, no screaming, no stuffiness, nor cough. Nothing to indicate she was sick other than the sudden onset of motor symptoms.

This may be how Charlie tells us that she is sick. I have my fingers crossed that the ear infection is the reason behind all of the changes. Time will tell whether an MRI is needed.

Just when I felt like I was getting into the swing of things this latest issue came from nowhere. One thing is for certain, Charlie keeps me on my toes.

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

7 responses to “Out Of Left Field

Leave a Reply

