Weekend At Morgan’s

Charlie played the drums while boosted on my knee.

Charlie played the drums while boosted on my knee.

My college friend, Morgan, recently moved to Delaware. Since her relocation, I had promised to bring Charlie to visit her. With the way our schedules worked out, this weekend was the chosen weekend. The journey forced me to confront some complex emotions because Morgan is twenty five weeks pregnant.

Prior to the trip, I had expected it to be hard. The twenty fifth week was the last full week that I carried Charlie (she was delivered the morning she reached twenty six weeks). I expected to feel envy, jealousy, and a little sadness. But, being with and supporting my friend was more important than any little uncomfortable twinge of emotion. I swallowed back my reservations and braced myself for what may come.

I like the expression on her face in the reflection on the glass.

I like the expression on her face in the reflection on the glass.

Surprisingly, I didn’t need to worry. All I felt was excitement and joy for her. It was precisely the way I felt towards pregnant friends prior to Charlie’s birth. Another sign I’m moving on in life.

The visit was a lot of fun as they usually are with Morgan. She accompanied Charlie and I to the Please Touch Museum in Philadelphia. The museum was an amazing place for Charlie to explore and play. I think her favorite part was the hundreds of rubber ducks on display in a long case.

Additionally, there were several play areas exclusively for children under three. Because of Charlie’s small size and physical delays, designated toddler areas are the very few places in the world where she can explore and play independently. It was wonderful queen_editedsome of the toddler play areas had staff to ensure only those aged three and under utilized the space. Some of the other designated toddler areas did not.

The difference was obvious.

It is frustrating when older (far exceeding the age limit) and much bigger kids enter areas designed for little kids. This defeats the purpose of a toddler play area. Because the older kids are bigger and play rougher, they endanger the little kids by knocking them over, jumping on them, or stepping on them. However, this problem isn’t limited to the museum. Sadly, it occurs in just about every unsupervised toddler spot.

But, I digress.

After we explored the museum, we returned to Morgan’s house in Delaware for the evening. Charlie showed off her farm animal noises before heading to bed. Seeing a friend is always good but, I can’t wait to meet Morgan’s little one.

duck

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “Weekend At Morgan’s

  • Kat

    I feel you on the unsupervised toddler areas. I took Anna to a bouncy gym for a birthday party a few weeks back and was so frustrated at the number of big kids playing in the under 3 area. A big rowdy kid hit Anna in the head and her father and I both screamed. I was amazed at the parents not even watching their kids. There were signs everywhere that said “only 3 & under allowed” and 75% of the place was meant for the older kids. So annoying. Had to vent! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

