A Different Kind Of Needs

Sometimes as parents, my husband and I forget about special issues involved in raising Charlie. They become our normal and we forget that they are not part of everyone’s baby experience. This week, I’ve noticed it more than any other point in time.

Earlier this week, one of my husband’s friends had a baby. My husband was excited and tried to think up the perfect newborn gift. His eyes grew wide and sparkled as he exclaimed, “I know! I will get him a case of those nose sucker things!”

I very gently had to remind him that his friend’s baby will probably not, at any point, be fed through an NG tube. Nor, will the baby have reflux through the nose past age one like Charlie. His friend would likely appreciate two or three of the nose suckers at the most. He paused and said, “Hmmm, you’re right.” and shrugged it off.

Up until that moment, I don’t think it occurred to him that Charlie had different needs than most babies. Or, that his parenting experience had been so different from the norm.

Fast forward to today. This morning, Charlie and I attended a fundraising kick off. Afterwards, I decided to use our Harpers Ferry pass again before it expired tomorrow.

The first time we went (on Wednesday), I did not take her stroller and regretted it. This time, I had her stroller already in tow from the kick off.

Once we arrived, I pushed her around for a while. I had the same problem today that I have each time the stroller has been used since she outgrew the infant seat attachment.

10013007_10101629098645129_32093478_nShe has trouble sitting up in the stroller.

I’ve tried to remedy the problem by placing a rolled up blanket around her head and shoulders. It doesn’t really work. I hoped the problem would be a short term issue that went away as she got stronger. Not so much.

Tonight, I polled my Facebook friends (most don’t have this problem) and received several affordable solutions. I thought I would mention the ideas in case any one else is in a similar position with their little one.

First, my friend recommended getting a wedge cushion from a medical supply store and using it as a stroller insert after making the appropriate sized cut out. Since the cushion only costs $30, this would be the most economical of the options.

Second, another helpful friend recommended this stroller liner.

Finally, there are strollers made specifically for this issue. But, they tend to be pricey. I need to check insurance coverage and so forth.

I will investigate my options more thoroughly, proceed with trial and error, and report back. In the meantime, I’m open to suggestions.

 

 

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “A Different Kind Of Needs

  • judy

    I have something I can send to you. It is intended for just this sort of thing. The therapist gave us a “snuggin-to-go” (I think it’s called) and told us we could use it to keep Agnes in-line in her car seat or in that physical therapy chair she used a couple times. I think we only used it once because Agnes was too little for it, but it sounds like something Charlie could use. Email me your address and I will send it.

    Like

  • Little Ol' Me

    We also use Snuggin Go Too for our twins (now 2, born at 25 weeks) and really like them! We had the infant version when they first left the NICU and then later graduated to the toddler version. We have removed the foam in the piece that goes behind their heads as that seemed to bother them. But the sides definitely help a lot! And it can be used in car seats, strollers, high chairs…any type of seat. They’re washable, too (which is great for us as we have struggled with some feeding issues).

    http://www.snuggingo.com/snuggingo.com/Snuggin_Go_Too.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

