Why I Am A March Of Dimes Ambassador Mom

A doll that is the size Charlie was at birth. The doll is wearing the same hat and diaper Charlie wore.

The doll in my hand is the size Charlie was at birth. The doll is wearing the same hat and diaper Charlie wore.

Today, Charlie and I kicked off another March of Dimes fundraising event at a local store. It was the first time I lost my composure as I told our story.

Why do it? Why rehash a painful story over and over again? The answer is simple really.

These are the reasons why I speak about our story and raise money for the March of Dimes:

It’s for the moms of angels. Even though I can’t possibly imagine the feelings of a loss so great, I want them to know that their baby is not forgotten. I want them to realize that they are not alone as they figure out how to carry on and find peace.

It’s for the moms of preemies. There are very few who understand the heartbreak, sadness, loneliness, and fright that come with having a preemie. I want them to have comfort, support, and hope.

It’s for the moms of babies with birth defects. I want to raise awareness, understanding, and support for those families.

Charlie and I as we finish our story.

Charlie and I as we finish our story.

It’s for NICU babies. I want them to have bright futures.

It’s for every pregnant woman: present and future. I want them to have a healthy pregnancy.

It’s for every newborn. I hope for healthy futures.

It is for myself. I need something good to come from all this (other than Charlie) so I can one day move past it.

And finally, it is my way of saying thank you for saving my baby and many others.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

