More Questions To Answer

Melanie at MommyDo recognized me with a Liebster Award. She writes:

I think Cheering on Charlie received this award from someone else, but I’m giving it up anyway.

As I’ve stated previously, I am always grateful and flattered when a fellow blogger recognizes me. So without further delay, here are the answers to Melanie’s questions:

1. What made you want to start blogging?

Initially, it was a way for me to document Charlie’s journey in an appropriate venue. My posts became too long for Facebook or Tumblr. But, I like to learn and it became a learning project for me. It was also a way to retain relevant employment skills for when I return to the work force.
2. Who inspires you?

No one person, in particular, inspires me. Instead, I find inspiration in quotes, writings, and song lyrics that I come across. For example, I once read someone tweet something like “There are plenty of intelligent and talented people, distinguish yourself by being kind.” Additionally, there are several Bruce Hornsby lyrics that I often recite to myself such as “It probably won’t happen but I think I’ll try”.
3. What is one piece of advice you wish you could give your younger self?

You become what surrounds you… and you have the power to decide who surrounds you. I would have much sooner cut out the people who do nothing but discourage, criticize, or think they have it all figured out. I embrace those that encourage, are supportive, and challenge me to be better. If I knew this earlier, I don’t think I would have wasted as much of my youth being angry as I did.

4. What is your favorite item in your closet right now?

Whatever fits and doesn’t have stains. 🙂
5. What is currently your favorite album, artist, or song?

Holy wow, this is a tough one. Right now, Charlie and I have tickets to see Charlie Hunter. He is a guitarist and one of those performers that is consistently excellent every time I see him.

The upcoming show has special meaning to me. As it worked out, Charlie Hunter was the last show I saw while pregnant with Charlie. We saw him the night my  preeclampsia was discovered. His music was among the selections I played for Charlie in the NICU. Each time I hear the song, You Look Good In Orange, I think of Charlie. For the record, he is not one of the Charlie’s she was named after. Although, it was a happy coincidence. He is the guitarist (his part starts at 2:40) on this track:


6. What made you choose the title for your blog?

It came to me while I was writing my first post. When I wrote about cheering her on in the NICU, it clicked.
7. Must have beauty product(s)?

Other than lip gloss, I have not worn make up a day in my life. So I suppose, it’s lip gloss.
8. When are you happiest?

When I’m outside or at a show.
9. First celebrity crush?

OK, so I have to share my secret. I am face blind. So, I got crushes on TV characters rather than celebrities. My first crush was the main character of Quantum Leap. My lab partner, Kat, would be impressed at how nerdy that is.
10.Where is your dream destination?

Any country in Sub Saharan Africa.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

5 responses to “More Questions To Answer

Leave a Reply

