Another Reason To Walk

When Charlie made her early arrival, I was angry that it happened to her… and me.

In my grief, I asked questions such as “Why me?” and “Why do I have to be in that minute percentage?” Sometimes, when I’m having a rough day, I continue to ask those questions. The only satisfying line of reasoning that I could provide myself was: I took one for the team.

If someone, out of all the people I know, had to fall in the dreaded miniscule percentage, it’s OK that it was me. We made it through the NICU. Despite my complaining, we are tough enough to handle the therapy and challenges. If it had to be someone among the people I love, it’s OK that it was me. Our lives will go on.

But then…  my beloved next door neighbor had to go on bed rest and one of my friends went into preterm labor tonight.

NO! That is not part of the deal! That is not how it is supposed to work!

Tonight, I lost the only answer I had to the “why me” question.

It’s not fair that it happened to me or any other woman. It has to stop.

Tonight, I have found another reason to walk.

I’m tired of seeing my friends suffer.

Charlie at last year's March for Babies.

Charlie attended her first March of Dimes March For Babies last year. Team Charlie Allene is half way to their goal. You can help end premature birth with your support of Team Charlie Allene by clicking here.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

