Happy 21 Months Charlie!

Charlie is twenty one months old. Since February has only twenty eight days, I suppose she was officially twenty one months yesterday. However, we celebrated today by visiting Twin Lakes State Park (our twenty first for those of you counting). As I crossed today’s park off the list, I saw all the other parks we have checked off. I reminisced about each adventure.

That is the kind of thing I hope I remember about Charlie being a baby.

These are some of the memories:

One of Charlie's first hikes at Mason Neck State Park.

One of Charlie’s first hikes at Mason Neck State Park. I can remember how crisp the fall air was that day.

Cooking out in the middle of November at Staunton River State Park. The people who drove by just stared. Especially after we set up the ladder ball game.

Cooking out in the middle of November at Staunton River State Park. People drove by and stared. We ignored them and set up the ladder ball game.

This is when Charlie and I hiked our hundreth mile together.

Charlie and I hiked our hundredth mile together.

The gorgeous winter day at Kiptopeke State Park on the eastern shore.

The gorgeous winter day at Kiptopeke State Park on the eastern shore.

73653_10100888920707649_884599172_n

Not wanting to go home after Kiptopeke, I added First Landing State Park to the itinerary.

The very first time Charlie put her feet in a natural body of water at Shenandoah River State Park.

The very first time Charlie put her feet in a natural body of water at Shenandoah River State Park.

The first time Charlie played in the rain at James River State Park.

The first time Charlie played in the rain at James River State Park.

Charlie swings at Chippokes Plantation State Park. Whenever I see those pictures, I remember two things: How incredibly humid that day was and I can't wait to go back to that amazing park for a longer visit.

Charlie swings at Chippokes Plantation State Park. Whenever I see those pictures, I remember two things: How incredibly humid that day was and I can’t wait to go back to that amazing park for a longer visit (it has been one of my favorites so far).

The time at Douthat State Park when Charlie decided that she wasn't close enough to the lake and crawled in.

The time at Douthat State Park when Charlie decided that she wasn’t close enough to the lake and crawled in.

At her second visit to Lake Anna State Park, she walked in the sand for the first time and love it.

At her second visit to Lake Anna State Park, she walked in the sand for the first time and squealed with excitement.

She kept waving and saying, "Hi" to everyone we passed at High Bridge Trail State Park.

She waved and said, “Hi” to everyone we passed at High Bridge Trail State Park.

Today at Twin Lakes State Park, Charlie showed off her playground skills. She clapped quite a bit. I am not sure if she was expressing her excitement, if she was proud of her self, or both.

Today at Twin Lakes State Park, Charlie showed off her playground skills. She clapped quite a bit. I am not sure if she was expressing her excitement, if she was proud of herself, or both.

I don’t want to remember all the injections, feeding problems, diagnoses, fights with insurance, and seemingly endless therapy. When I think about Charlie’s beginning, I want to smile. Now, I see there is a very good chance of that happening.

Happy twenty one months Charlie Bear!

1896969_10101582299610769_829253258_n

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

