A Day At The Zoo

I wasn’t going to post tonight because Charlie and I have a long day planned tomorrow. However, we went somewhere that we really enjoyed and I wanted to pass on the information.

We went to the Luray Zoo (a rescue zoo).

As a rule, I generally avoid zoos or things involving animals. When I was a kid, I went to a zoo where the animals looked stressed and the enclosures were too small. I left feeling sad.  It was a lesson learned that I did not forget.

But, I came across Luray Zoo online and read that it was a rescue zoo. It sounded like an OK place to visit. Charlie’s dad, Charlie, and I were up early today and made the short trek.

The zoo was better than expected. There were a variety of animals that were well cared for and had appropriate enclosures. Each animal had their rescue story posted by their enclosure. The owners were friendly and helpful. We had an amazing time and learned quite a bit.

Charlie made friends with a monkey.

Charlie meowed when she saw the tiger.

Charlie meowed when she saw the tiger.

Charlie loved the petting zoo portion.

Charlie loved the petting zoo portion.

petting zoo 2

When the condor did this...

When the condor did this…

Charlie looked at me and did this.

Charlie looked at me and did this.

Anyhow, I highly recommend visiting the Luray Zoo if you find yourself in Luray. Even if you are near by, it is worth making the detour to visit.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

