5 Activities For Parents On A Snowbound Day (Or Any Day)

According to local news, we had about twenty inches of snow dumped on us. We are stuck at home for a day or two. Last time we were forced indoors, I suggested activities for the kids. Today, I have ideas for adults.

1) Make a weighted blanket. Charlie’s OT had suggested that we try a weighted blanket with Charlie. I attempted to make one because they can be rather costly. I’m not very crafty. When I finished, there were beads everywhere and I cursed the suggestion. I wish I had found this Sewing Tutorial from Mama Smiles prior to my attempt.

2) Start a parent group. While the post is specifically titled How To Start A Preemie Support Group by the amazing Urban Flowerpot, the steps can be adjusted to create any sort of parent group. I love my moms groups.

Charlie's NICU Shadow Box

Charlie’s NICU Shadow Box

3) Make a NICU (or newborn) shadow box, scrapbook, or baby book. Assemble all the odds and ends saved from your child’s start in life. Then, organize the pictures, piece together a display, or fill out a baby book. A permanent keepsake can be made out of the memorable clutter.

For the strictly digital parent, Mashable provides a nice list of online scrapbooking resources. Kidmondo offers an online baby book.

4) Read. I enjoy Bloglovin and Scribd. Bloglovin allows you to find and add blogs to a feed. Scribd is like the Netflix for e-books.

5) Visit Share Your Story. Share Your Story is a great website resource provided by March of Dimes. Parents can post on forums that address infant loss, pregnancy loss, NICU stays, life after the NICU, infertility issues, pregnancy, and just about everything else.

In addition, parents can start their own blog on the site. I cross post this blog on the site (SEO suicide, I’m aware). The site is a great way to connect with other parents on similar journeys. There is even an annual gathering of the sites regular users.

Personally, I would like to spend more time on ideas such as these. However, I am preoccupied by having to remind Charlie, “Don’t climb on that!” or “Get that out of your mouth!” I’m thankful for the long nap Charlie takes daily.

Charlie was not a fan of playing in the snow today.

Charlie was not a fan of playing in the snow today.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

