Today’s Small Victory: Obtaining Speech Therapy

I couldn’t sleep last night so I sought speech therapy options via the internet. When I woke up this morning, I decided today was the day I was going to find the recommended speech therapy for Charlie. The task ended up being easier than I anticipated.

To begin, I called Charlie’s insurance provider. I wanted to understand what speech therapy services are covered, how many sessions are covered, what is the co pay, who are the in network providers, and what language the prescription needed to have to ensure coverage.

Once supplied with the information, I started to problem solve:

  • Early Intervention (in our state) will only provide speech therapy once a week at the most. It is an option, just not an ideal option.
  • The local pediatric therapy providers were in network but the insurance co pay was high and only once a week services were covered. Another option, but not a very good option.
  • There was the possibility that both of the prior options could work complementary with each other. That idea is a better alternative.
  • During last night’s internet search, I discovered a nearby university with a speech pathology program offered speech therapy. This seemed to be the most promising of all but needed to be investigated further.

I called the university to inquire about the program. Jackpot! They offer speech therapy and it was at a reasonable cost with a possible fee reduction option. Additionally, forms are provided for possible insurance reimbursement.

The university program looks like our best option. I will learn more as we move further along the intake process.

So far, I have received the necessary intake forms for the program via email and the developmental pediatrician is faxing the needed prescription. Our next step is to return the forms and schedule an appointment. The first appointment will assess Charlie’s speech, language, and hearing.

The process didn’t involve the predicted fight that I was prepared for. Nevertheless, I felt pretty victorious afterwards.  My hope is that this post will help other parents generate ideas for securing services for their child.

100_1057_edited

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “Today’s Small Victory: Obtaining Speech Therapy

Leave a Reply

