Swim Class Revisited

As if things weren’t stressful enough, Thursday evening our furnace gave out. We are cramped into a hotel room while the furnace is replaced. The situation is not ideal but it is not bad. We have been making the best of things and that includes enjoying the indoor pool.

1555267_10101530665321299_1165636807_nA year has passed since we have stayed in a hotel with Charlie. She is scared of the elevator and is obsessed with the trashcan. Overall, she’s been well behaved. I can contribute much of that to the indoor pool and Charlie’s swim class.

I have written about Charlie’s mommy and me swim class she started earlier this month. Charlie loves the class. I, on the other hand, have to confront my public pool aversion and bungle out of a swim suit as I prevent Charlie from crawling through the puddles on the locker room floor. Just typing that makes me wince.

This weekend, I realized the many benefits of Charlie’s swim class. I knew that it has helped her progress towards walking, it is helping her get stronger, and has developed better body awareness. But, I did not know that I was learning from the swim class.

We have had Charlie in the pool each day of our stay to burn off excess energy.

Charlie’s dad took her for the first swim. He had no idea what to do with her once he was in the pool. I suggested many of the 46862_10101530665311319_1238993079_nactivities and songs from swim class. Charlie gleamed as they played. She showed how she could splash, kick, and “swim”. I showed her dad how to hold her in the pool. I know it sounds ridiculous. But, without the class, I don’t think we would have known how to get anything out of pool time with Charlie.

So yes, I hate having to lug everything to the pool for class. I am grossed out by public pools and the puddles in the locker room. I am exhausted by the time I haul Charlie up the stairs after class like a sack of potatoes. However, I’m glad that we are taking the mommy and me swim class and am pleased with the results. While it has been obviously beneficial for Charlie, it has its surprising pluses for me.

If anything, Charlie is one more step towards walking.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “Swim Class Revisited

  • Jennifer

    Ug – that sucks! My furnace gave out earlier this winter. Such a hassle! We actually used a kerosene heater to keep our house warm.

    Glad Charlie is enjoying swim class. Isla gets too cold, so I’m trying to find a place with a warmer pool than where we were going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

