Thank Goodness For Snow Days And Friends

Like many parents do, I’ve been feeling overwhelmed with life. It seems like our smoothly choreographed routine has been disrupted as things snowballed (and I’m not referring to the weather).

The problems started with the complications of my upcoming surgery. Then, Charlie needs new ankle foot orthotics (which is a lengthy and time consuming process this time), Charlie’s dad has a couple of upcoming business trips, and I’m struggling to keep up with Charlie’s demanding therapy routine and medical appointments.

I felt like I was drowning and have been irritable to say the least.

Fortunately, our scheduled therapy activities were canceled today by the snow storm. I used the opportunity to catch up with household chores. As I cleaned this afternoon, friends from my moms groups unexpectedly messaged me to help out with the logistics of my impending surgery. Finally, I have a foot hold.

Yesterday, the next month felt like an impossible challenge. This evening, I find it manageable. It will be tough but it can be done.

Thank goodness for friends and neighbors.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “Thank Goodness For Snow Days And Friends

  • Christine

    Out of curiosity, what kind of foot orthodics does she need? My daughter’s were a pretty easy process of measuring her foot and ankle and then coming back two weeks later to fit them and take them home. The most difficult part for us was finding does that were wide enough, small enough, and flexible enough for her to walk in. We go to one of the many hanger clinics where they have this process down to a science. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

