I Was Thrilled With “Ma ma”

Charlie has a speech delay. Things have progressed slowly as we focused on her feeding challenges. I was thrilled when she started using “ma ma” consistently a few months ago.

More recently, she has been speaking what we refer to as “gibberish”. She looks at us as if to say something and proceeds with a sentence length of garbled sounds. We respond as if we understand but mostly dismiss that it truly has any meaning. Things changed on Friday when she revealed to us how much she really knows.

Charlie and I were rough housing in her play room after dinner. I grabbed a toy from her and exclaimed, “I’ve got it!” She pounced and squealed out, “Ah gonna git it!”

I froze with shock. Did I really hear that? Did she just say a coherent sentence? Is it just wishful thinking? Charlie’s dad was in the next room. Perplexed, I called out to him, “Did you hear that?” He confirmed that he did.

We had a feeling that Charlie understands quite a bit. However, we could not be sure. While I think she has the words, her oral motor skills seem to be the source of her speech delay.

Now, we strain harder to understand her “gibberish”. Friday evening was definitely the encouragement we needed to continue working on her sounds. It won’t be long before we complain about her talking too much.

SRSP

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “I Was Thrilled With “Ma ma”

Leave a Reply

