Swim Class, Color, and Change

I greatly appreciate everyone who weighed in on yesterday’s post, Therapy Burn Out. It’s always nice to realize that I’m not the only one who feels burnt from time to time. Today brought about some needed change.

Charlie and I started a “Mommy and Me” swim class last week. Her first class was during the two degree weather. Understandably, she was too cold to enjoy it and mostly clung to me. We vacated the pool early and sought warmth.

Today, we had our second swim class. Despite Charlie’s initial hesitance to get back in the pool, she loved it. She squealed with delight as she splashed and learned to kick. It was a break from our usual monotonous routine.

Afterwards, Charlie napped while dad worked from home. I took advantage of the lull and went to get my hair trimmed.

For those who don’t know, I had long hair before the NICU. In order to simplify life, I had it cut off to an extremely short length. I kept it short while Charlie was an infant.

Now, I’m in the process of growing it back out. Getting a trim has become rather robotic. Every few months, I get my hair trimmed. I climb up in the chair and say to the hair dresser, “I’m growing it out. Please clean it up and prevent a mullet from growing.”

Today, I was prepared for the routine. I sank into the chair and just wanted it to be over. Fortunately, I had a chatty hair dresser. Our conversation from my initial comment blossomed into a long discussion of all the times I cut my hair off. I made the comment, “I’m bored with my hair. I wish I could dye it. However, the dye won’t take since I’ve been taking prednisone.”

The hairdresser confidently declared she could color my hair. I was skeptical as she explained how she would do it. After hearing the details, I asked to see the color swatches. I pointed to one and said, “I kind of like that one but I like it brighter.” She insisted she could make it as bright as I wanted it and suggested I use a darker base color. I decided to give her plan a try.

The end results? Not only did she successfully color my hair but it is the best color I have ever had. I am thrilled with it. Most importantly, it was a little bit of change I needed. I feel like it gave me my second wind.

Currently, our world is full of restrictions, routines, and rigid structure. I think it is important to break out of that often enough to avoid getting stuck in a rut.

My friend, Sally, said that I couldn’t write a post about color change without a selfie. The color would not photograph as bright as it actually is. I think that Charlie takes the best selfies.

1464683_10101512659754599_1008259171_n1554623_10101512657718679_1266086727_n

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “Swim Class, Color, and Change

  • Melanie

    Looks great! Yes, Sally was right, I was scrolling down eagerly awaiting the selfie. My hair has been going grey at an incredible rate since we landing in the NICU last year (for a much shorter stay) and have navigated the world of diagnosis and delay ever since. I think I’ll follow your lead and do the same. What is it they say? A change is as good as a rest?

    Like

Leave a Reply

