First Steps!

With the first swim class, the state parks contest, and everything else, it has been quite the week in our household. Today’s post was going to be about Charlie’s first swim class. However, Charlie decided to change the subject. She has taken her first steps!!!!

Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos or videos to post because Charlie is sneaky. It started earlier today. After her first swim class, she had speech therapy. The speech pathologist and I discussed the new sounds Charlie is working on while Charlie played. Suddenly, Charlie decided to stand from crawling without support.

I stopped mid sentence and blurted out, “She hasn’t done that before.” We marveled as Charlie stood there oblivious to what she had done. She stood for a few seconds and peered around like a meerkat. She became wobbly, sat down, and returned to crawling on the floor.

Later, I answered an email while Charlie placed a shoe on and off the coffee table. When I looked up, she was midway between the table and my chair. While she held on to the shoe with both hands, she unsteadily wobbled towards me on her feet and took about four to five steps.

It’s progress… and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “First Steps!

Leave a Reply

