Swim Class

For our newest adventure close to home, Charlie will be attending swim class which starts this week. We were able to find a really good deal on a mommy and me swim class. Pluses to taking the class include: Charlie loves the water and it will help her progress on her therapy goals.

There is only one problem… I am not a fan of public water facilities. It grosses me out. I don’t even like baths because I don’t want to sit in the dirt, oil, and germs I’m washing off of my body.

Since we have the opportunity to do something Charlie loves at an affordable price, I tried to tell myself I’m being silly. I thought that I was letting the germaphobe preemie mom instinct get the better of me. To reassure myself, I consulted with the University of Google. The CDC fact sheet I found was not very comforting. 

Basically, I’m going to have to step way outside my comfort zone for this. That is the thing about raising Charlie. She challenges me to be braver, better, and try things I’m not comfortable with.

1514079_10101489713194689_648423699_n

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “Swim Class

  • Julie S

    Swimming therapy helped our son so much with his therapy goals. It was a big part of getting him walking. He did pick up a minor skin infection- moloscum contagiousm (yes contagious but luckily not serious and it cleared up with daily over the counter benzol peroxide treatment.) That said- use clean towels to sit & change on, I prefer bleach-able for sanitary reasons. The chlorine and filtration in the water make it pretty safe. No bare feet in the locker room and a quick shower after. No your not paranoid- just cautious 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

