Woodland Creature

Yesterday was the first day of a photo contest in which I entered a picture of Charlie. While I campaigned for votes, I talked to friends that I hadn’t spoken to in a while. There isn’t a good reason as to why I had fallen out of contact. I suppose it is a part of life (more specifically, special needs life) that it happens. With each conversation, I was reminded of how fortunate I truly am.

Contained within my smorgasbord of friends there are:

The friend that revealed her experience with a late walking daughter to help me feel less alone.

My show going guy friends (more like brothers) from my twenties that are now scattered across the globe but don’t hesitate when they are needed.

The friend that came to see Charlie at her sickest (without being asked) when I had stopped asking people to visit because no one would.

Our old neighbor who visited several times during Charlie’s NICU stay and has always been a friend.

The couple that visited me in the hospital before Charlie was born, while Charlie was in the NICU, and continue to socialize with us regardless of our baby in tow.

There are the friends from my past that good-naturedly voted without a second thought.

The couple that included a stop to visit pregnant me in the hospital in their itinerary while in town and have been there for us ever since.

One of my newest friends, a CP mom, that assists in problem solving and listens patiently because she knows exactly how it feels.

My friend that will let me vent for as long as needed, is not afraid to say “That stinks”, and will laugh with me about life afterwards.

The friend who told me I was the sister she wished she had.

My preemie mom friends that are quick with understanding and encouragement whenever needed.

The amazing women in my moms groups who have their individual strengths and are a force to be reckoned with collectively.

And there are many more that cheer for us and Charlie.

At first, I wasn’t sure I wanted to enter the contest. Quite honestly, I have become afraid to hope for things. However, I’m glad I did. Not merely because I want to win (which I really do and we are so close to first). Rather, I was reminded how lucky I am to have so many incredible people in my life. Unfortunately, sometimes I make the mistake of forgetting this as we go about our daily lives.

1238743_10101493155581119_1602306659_n This is the picture of Charlie titled Woodland Creature that I entered into the contest. It can be voted on by clicking vote here.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

17 responses to “Woodland Creature

Leave a Reply

