A Little Girl In Our Midst

christmasCharlie doesn’t talk or walk yet. She eats a large portion of her nutritional intake from a bottle and is very small in stature. Because of these things, it is easy to make the mistake of treating her like a baby. I’ve recently realized she has moved past infancy and is now a little girl.

…and I have no idea what I am doing.

I’ve written many times about the difficulty of Charlie no longer being a baby but lacking toddler motor skills. She is interested in the same things as other kids her (actual) age. She wants to play with other kids her age. But, she doesn’t have the motor skills to keep up or communicate with them.

I am lost as to what’s the answer.

I suppose for now, I will try not to think about it too much. We will continue to do what we do best… have fun. I will let Charlie be the guide. Most importantly, I will try not to regress to treating her like an infant. She is now a toddler… and I couldn’t be any prouder.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “A Little Girl In Our Midst

  • jmn

    I don’t have any answers, and I don’t purport to. But I did want to say that I appreciate your story, and reading about it – thanks for writing. I am also a (relatively) new mum, facing my own challenges with my son. All the best to you and Charlie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

