The To Do List

In July, I wrote a list of things that I would like to do within the next few years. Today was a quiet day around the house so I decided to revisit the list. I crossed off one thing, revised a few, and made an addition.

First, the item that was crossed off:

  • I have the yearning to enjoy a delicious meal topped off by desert with Charlie. Charlie has just about conquered her oral aversion. Now, we dine together often.

Next, the items on the list that need to be revised:

  • I have decided that it would be practical to combine the cross country trip idea with the desire to ride the Cardinal and Empire Builder Amtrak lines. I  still  want to wait until she is a little older so she can remember the trip.
  • The condition of my spine limits my ability to get back in to running as hoped for. However, I’ve discovered a compromise…. hiking. Up hill hikes are as demanding to me as running was when I was younger. Hiking does not have the pounding running has. Also, I can time regular routes and try to improve my time. While this is technically a revision, I consider it to be another item crossed off.
  • Instead of Charlie’s first baseball game, I would like to take her to several games this upcoming season. I’m eyeing Nats ticket package prices.

Finally, the addition:

  • When Charlie gets a little older, I would like our family to go on a volunteer vacation. I want her to know that giving back is important (and fun). We would start small. Who knows? If it works out, it could be an annual thing for our family that grows with time.

In case you were wondering about the other items on the list, we are making headway. On January 1st, we will have visited our twentieth state park for a First Day Hike with a good friend of ours. In addition, I am squirreling away bits and pieces I need to make the special keepsake quilt for Charlie.

What is on your to do list? I’m always looking for great ideas.

The first and last time Charlie had juice that was not watered down. Sugar buzz!

The first and last time Charlie had juice that was not watered down. Sugar buzz!

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

