Ordinary Time

If you are a regular reader, you may have noticed the lack of posts recently. It is due to a couple of reasons.

First, I’ve been somewhat ill for the past week and a half. Because of this, I am taking it easy. Charlie’s dad has been attending her therapy appointments with her. I have been forgoing scheduled events when I can and mostly reading books at home. I am sorry to say the slower schedule has reduced my blogging inspiration significantly.

Second, not much has happened in our household other than our preparations for a small Christmas. There is a lull in our usually hectic world.

I realized as a kid that the church calendar contained “Ordinary Time”. After seeing this, I remember thinking “How boring!” Especially since, feast days and holidays often got us out of class to attend mass. But, I digress.

Ordinary time is a good description of where we are. There are currently no highs of unexpected or hoped for gains and no lows of frustrations or sadness. No, it is not boring.  It is necessary for my sanity and greatly needed so I can deal with my health concerns.

As Christmas approaches, here is to hoping for a quiet holiday season. We shall see if it actually works out that way.

My back yard has become a winter wonderland recently.

My back yard has become a winter wonderland recently.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “Ordinary Time

  • judy

    I always disliked the name “ordinary time” too, even though I now know it refers to the fact that the Sundays are counted by ordinal numbers: 11th Sunday, 12th Sunday, 13th Sunday, etc. In the Eastern church, we are counting the Sundays after Pentecost, which is a bit better. Anyway though, it sounds as if you are getting in the spirit of Advent: taking time away from the frenzy in order to prepare your heart for Christmas. Too bad it has to involve an illness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

