A Typical Day

In honor of Prematurity Awareness Month, I am attempting to write a post a day (with the exception of power outages). With select posts, I hope to address a different aspect of our prematurity journey that non preemie parents may not realize.

Someone asked me, “What is your typical day like?”  I was unsure of how to respond.

Every day is different. Most days, have some kind of doctor appointment or therapy scheduled. On the days that don’t, I go grocery shopping, run errands, join in play dates, clean the house, and so fourth. Quite frankly, other than the scheduled appointments, I figure the day out when I wake.

After much thought, this is how I would answer if I was asked about our typical day again.

  • I wake up before Charlie. While eating breakfast, I look over the day’s scheduled appointments or figure out my plans for the day.
  • After breakfast, I take a very quick shower, shove things in the diaper bag, make a bottle, and draw up Charlie’s meds.
  • Charlie awakens by this point. I change her, feed her (she gets fed every three hours from this point until bed), medicate her, get her dressed, and stick her in the car seat.
  • We go where ever we are supposed to be that morning. If it is an appointment through early intervention, I scramble to pick up because the appointment is at our house. I am expected to participate in therapy appointments.
  • Afterwards, I try to find something fun to do that works on her therapy goals (or join up with our moms group) and squeeze in lunch for me. Possibly, cram in a walk.
  • We return home (or I walk in the park) and Charlie naps for an hour.
  • Charlie plays independently while I tend to dishes or laundry.
  • Charlie’s dad comes home or finishes work. We eat dinner.
  • Charlie’s dad plays with her, bathes her, and medicates her while I read or blog.
  • Charlie says good night and goes to bed.
  • Around midnight, Charlie is awakened for a quick diaper change and a late night feed. Afterwards, she falls back to sleep quickly.

More often than not, that is what our day is like. Of course, there are variations and it rarely runs as smooth as it looks on paper. There are variables that affect the course of the day such as poor weather, Charlie does not cooperate, sleep deprivation, one of us is ill, etc.

Preemie parents, what is your typical day like?

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

