It Has To Come Off

Prior to having Charlie, my blood pressure was always on the low end of the charts. That was before our world changed. In addition to Charlie’s health concerns, I’ve had to keep an eye on my blood pressure.

Admittedly, I am over weight. Not obese but on the heavy side. These past few months have been particularly bad. I have strayed away from my normally healthy diet and have not been consistent with physical activity.

There are many excuses I use. I am too busy with Charlie. It is hard to work out with my back problems. Gyms bore me. My asthma slows me down. The prednisone bloats me. The weather is bad. But in reality, they are merely excuses for not dealing with it.

To get back in the habit, I started small. I began by walking a few miles every day after my last alarming blood pressure reading a few weeks ago.

Incrementally, I have increased difficulty by adding challenging ascents, stepping up speed, and increasing distance.

I have decided that I have no other choice than to shed these excess pounds. Like most things, it is a project in the works. I do not even know if it will be successful.

I wonder, why am I good at keeping Charlie healthy and horrible at keeping myself in check?

hike

I took this today on my way back down the mountain.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

