Even Mama Needs A Day Off

Today, I turned off my cell phone, left Charlie at home with her dad, and went for a hike. I needed an afternoon to myself.

kaia hikesUnfortunately, the state park was unusually crowded today with many types of people. On crowded days,  I try to guess the story of the groups I come across. I  typically encounter a variety of people. Most frequently, the groups are what I refer to as the family with small kids, the young dating couple, the nature lovers, the photographers, the gear heads, and the workout enthusiasts.

My favorite is the family with small kids. I can’t help but laugh when I hear: “Look mom!”  “Put that down! No! Don’t put that in your mouth!” or some other variety of young kid mischief. The most baffling are the gear heads. I want to ask why they need to carry walking sticks, a camel back, a day pack, safari hats, and wear zip off pants if they are only going for a few mile hike? I am impressed by the work out enthusiasts. They are the ones who run past me UP the mountain while carrying only their car keys.

While I think it is great that so many people are getting out and enjoying the state park, by doing so they were infringing on my alone time. I dug my headset out of the car and listened to music to solve the problem. Once again, I was in my own little world.

I know, I know… I missed out on the sounds of nature. However, I also avoided hearing the sounds of others’ conversations, kids yelling, and so fourth. Besides, now that I live on top of a mountain nature, comes to my back door.

Kaia and I hiked up a difficult rated trail and back down a more scenic moderate rated trail. The afternoon turned out to be pretty relaxing. I feel rejuvenated for whatever the up coming week throws my way. Additionally, I hope that it is the beginning of daily walks for me.

On a side note, I should mention that Prematurity Awareness Day is a week from today.

sky meadows

This was a gorgeous view. However, Kaia was tired of taking pictures and refused to cooperate.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

3 responses to “Even Mama Needs A Day Off

Leave a Reply

