Almost There: The Power of Early Intervention

Today’s post is a thank you to Charlie’s first physical therapist. During the first few months home, Charlie’s motor issues became evident to me. While I was told by many to “wait and see”, there were a couple of people willing to troubleshoot with me and address the issue. One of those people was Charlie’s first physical therapist.

She patiently worked with Charlie, brainstormed with me, and taught me how to help my baby. I remember how excited we were last January when Charlie learned to hold her head up. Later in February, we were ecstatic that she learned to roll over.

Unfortunately, we moved out of the area towards the end of February and left behind Charlie’s physical therapist. While we were lucky enough to find another great therapist, I miss our old one.

I remember there was a time I questioned if Charlie was going to learn to walk. (While admittedly it was early to think about such things, we had to consider it as we prepared to move to a place with many stairs.) I want her first physical therapist to know, less than a year later, Charlie is almost there. Her assistance was conducive to Charlie’s success.

Days like these past couple of days make the monotony and weariness of  what seems like endless therapy worthwhile.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

