Prematurity Awareness Month Post: What Do Those Tubes and Wires In The NICU Do?

NICU babies often have many tubes and wires attached to their tiny bodies. I was lucky enough to have a kind and informative NICU nurse explain the purpose of my baby’s life lines. The following is a description of some of the tubes and wires my baby had in the NICU as I remember it explained to me.

I am not a medical expert and encourage NICU parents to ask their baby’s health care team members any questions they may have concerning care. An excellent resource concerning NICU equipment can be found at this link.

NICU Preemie Tubes and Wires

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a comment