Where To Draw The Line

Many moms have a favorite website. For some, it is Pinterest. In my case, I am a Stumble Upon addict. Last January, I was stumbling and enjoying the late night silence when I came across the article titled Mommy Bloggers: A Child’s Right To Online Privacy.

The article raises some valid concerns and compelled me to question where I should draw the line. When is refreshing honesty crossing into careless parenting?

As the article notes, what is written online has the potential to exist indefinitely. To me, the idea that Charlie may one day read what I write about her is my biggest concern. With this in mind, I try to write each post as if she may read it later.

I feel honesty and integrity are important but I think discretion becomes key when the subject broadens beyond the scope of myself. Do I want Charlie to know THAT about me? How will what I write make her feel if she reads it? Do I want the people in her future to know that about her?

Privacy is another important concern. Before my foray into blogging, I strove to maintain a low profile. I enjoyed the freedom that anonymity allowed me. I want that to be an option for Charlie should she choose it.

Currently, we are a March of Dimes ambassador family, I keep a blog, and sometimes, I speak to groups. I plan to slowly move Charlie out of the spotlight around the time she ages out of Early Intervention and my blogging adventure will end. I am not sure what will happen after that point. I plan one thing but life happens. Ideally, it will be up to her.

To the parents who blog, I ask this: Where do you draw the line? What are your concerns?

This was taken yesterday.

This was taken yesterday.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

6 responses to “Where To Draw The Line

  • jgroeber

    What an excellent thing to post and something I probably need to visit with more direct purpose. I do know that I wish I knew more about my childhood, about how my mother handled raising a daughter who is deaf and blind, a severely retarded son, three more children and a severely ill husband. In the very rare moments when my mother shares the tiniest glimpse of something from my childhood and her role in it, I am warmed to know her and know myself better, too. It allows me to empathize, forgive and likely parent better. I try to think about how my children will see these things and also to think about all our lives in terms of broader themes. It’s so good to reflect on this though, so thank you for sharing!

    Like

  • Momma P

    I think I will still blog but get it back to just writing letter them, which was my original intention of the blogs I have for my sons. I may switch to just paper letters, I haven’t decided. I will probably do that once they get older, so in a few years.

    Like

  • Alyssa

    I worry about this alot and I am so glad you have written this post. For me, this is much of the reason that I have not been as raw as I have wanted to be at times. Its also why I have left out certain parts of our story. I don’t want to and will not keep anything from Virginia but I am also very aware of what I am writing and how she may feel about it some day.

    Like

    • woodra01

      I have a hard time walking the line between honesty and my role as a parent. I value honesty. I realize that, like it or not, I’m her role model and I need to serve as an example.

      I never want her to think of me as some larger than life character that she feels pressure to emulate or even worse, that I expect perfection. But at the same time, I don’t want her to read something and feel badly about herself.

      Obviously, I would never post anything about her that would be embarrassing. No naked pictures or humiliating stories.

      I don’t know… I hope the benefits end up outweighing the risk.

      Like

Leave a Reply

