I Know, It’s Weird

Over a year has passed since Charlie has come home the NICU. Despite the passage of time, I continue to have unusual thoughts or habits. For example, I know it is weird that:

  • I can convert from milliliters to ounces, kilograms to pounds, and vice versa very quickly in my head. Often, I find myself doing it needlessly anywhere weights and measures are frequently used.
  • I am delighted when my baby plays with her food, frolics in mud, or rolls in the grass. There was a time when she acted like her hand was on fire if it came in contact with something messy.
  • I always have a plan B and, sometimes, a plan C, D, and E.
  • I am more trusting of someone who admits the future is unknown rather than those whom provide false assurances that things will be fine.
  • I continue to think that term babies look huge.
  • I see much more gray than black and white.

NICU parents, in what ways does your NICU experience linger with you?

park

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

8 responses to “I Know, It’s Weird

  • megapixie

    It’s amazing how life goes from black & white to gray over time… experience (of all sorts) seems to do that to us. Congrats on your year milestone and your flourishing baby girl!

    Like

  • Kerith Stull

    Not weird thoughts at all! Our mommy-minds can do weird things all of the time, so that’s just “normal,” My now 17yo daughter with moderate cerebral palsy was in the NICU for just four days when she was born (a heart issue that resolved itself). I sometimes think about those other families and wonder if they ever think of us even though Brielle was there for a short time. Is that a weird thought?

    Like

  • judy

    My time with Agnes in the NICU lingers in the “schedules” I set for her care. Feeding every three hours on the “A” schedule, most care bundled around feeding times. I know what the normal Celsius temps are. I think of her weight in kilos and her feeds in mililiters. I learned and now use NICU/hospital jargon when talking about her care. That makes it quicker when I talk to the hospital nurses and doctors–less translation needed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

