To Nashville And Back

You may have noticed the lack of posts over the past few days. Charlie, my husband, and I spent the weekend traveling to and from Nashville. It turned out being a really pleasant trip.

I am not going to rehash every excruciating detail and post many photos.

But, I will write about the evening in which I was an embarrassing preemie mom.

On that particular evening of our trip, we had decided to go to a very large and noisy shopping center which was packed with people. It was something we had not and could not attempt in the past. Charlie would not have withstood it.

The flashing neon lights would have been too bright, the noise level would have been too high, and the crowd would have overwhelmed her. In short, sensory overload.

That evening, we decided to try. We could always leave if Charlie melted down.

As soon as we stepped into the shopping center, I was distracted. I was busy trying to gracefully navigate the crowded arena (trying not to run people over with Charlie’s giant stroller). My husband and I yelled to each other over the commotion as we quickly planned our evening. Through everything, I had not heard a sound out of Charlie.parade_edited

Quickly, I checked on her to see how she was holding up and could not help but laugh. She was perched in her stroller waving to everyone that walked past her. It was as if she was a princess sitting on a convertible in a parade.

I sighed with relief and was thrilled that she was enjoying herself.

Charlie smiled and waved as we made our way to a giant aquarium. Later, she happily babbled when people stopped to talk to her, laughed as she was wheeled by Halloween costumes, and happily squealed while playing games in the arcade with her daddy.

There was no need for stress, panic, or worry. We were able to forget about back up plans, escape routes, plan Bs, and everything else. I did not feel like I was rolling along an alarm preparing to bring everything to a screeching halt. We did not have to take turns sitting out.

We. Had. Fun. Together.

It took all the restraint I had not to bawl hysterically the moment I understood what was happening.

The majority of our trip was a collection of many fun (but not as monumental) moments. We will talk about this trip for a while.

photo_edited

Charlie poses in front of a display of giant candy boxes.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

One response to “To Nashville And Back

Leave a Reply

