Poof! She’s A Toddler

swinging

Swinging at the park.

Today, I had an appointment. Unfortunately for me, my husband had to go to his office (he regularly works from home). Regrettably, I had to take Charlie with me to the appointment.

On similar occasions in the past, I found it easiest when Charlie slept. This morning, I formulated a simple plan. I would take Charlie to the park, tire her out, and she would sleep through the appointment.

But, Charlie had other plans.

The weather was beautiful and we spent a couple of hours at the park. Towards the end of our park adventure, Charlie indicated she was tired. In response, I strapped her in her car seat and we headed home.

She rallied during the few minutes we were in the car.

After a quick diaper change, clothing switch, and feeding, we set out towards my appointment. Charlie was nowhere near ready for a nap. On the way, we stopped at the library. The library has a nice play space in the children’s book area. I was sure that a quick tumble on the over sized blocks would wear her out.

She played with two other toddlers. She climbed, rolled, crawled, laughed, and banged together toys. I was confident, after all that, she would snooze through the appointment.

She didn’t. Where did she get the endurance from?

At the appointment, she was well behaved. Still, she was awake. She was an active participant in the conversation and filled in the silences with her “singing”. We forged through the appointment. Afterwards, I swore to myself that I wouldn’t drag her along anymore.

Finally, on the drive home, she drifted off.

Today, I realized that I have a toddler on my hands. She is no longer a baby.

Playing at the library.

Playing at the library.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

