The Takeaway

Any ordeal in life can be a learning experience. Charlie’s birth was no exception. These are some of the things I discovered during Charlie’s birth and first year:

  • How to be a better friend than I have been in the past. I know not to say, “If you ever need anything…” or tell people that I know how they feel (because I don’t).
  • Even if something is performed with flawless perfection,  it can still turn out poorly. Not all bad things that happen have a cause. Misfortune often occurs like a lousy dice roll… by chance.
  • Don’t sweat the small stuff. There are very few things in life that are a matter of life or death. Likewise, short of death, loss, and heartbreak, most things can be fixed or managed.
  • Some things take time. I have learned to be more patient. Whether I’m waiting for Charlie to grow or for me to recover from a loss, I need to relax and let time take its course.
  • Believe in the amazing. Everything Charlie has done and been through has been incredible. Good things can happen too.
  • Not every relationship is meant to work out. No matter if it is a doctor, friend, professional, or acquaintance. I try to choose wisely where I invest my time and energy. Some people just work better together than others.
  • I learned to trust myself and my instincts… even if others dismiss them.
  • What a person wants, needs, or desires does not have to be practical or logical. It is still just as valid and important.

NICU parents, what would you add to this list?

crib

This is how Charlie greets me in the morning.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “The Takeaway

Leave a Reply

