Let’s Talk About It

During Charlie’s first year, there were (and still are) many unanswered questions about her future. Will she be disabled? Will she have chronic health concerns? Will she have long term special needs? In order for me to acclimate to my new reality, I needed information. I found it strange that there have been very few people willing to discuss possibilities other than a full recovery.

The lack of discussion started with the NICU consult. When Charlie’s early birth was imminent, a neonatalogist stopped by my hospital room. He handed a sheet of paper to me with Charlie’s odds of survival based on gestational age and weight. Under his breath, he alluded to the possibility of long term disability. He did not say anything more about it.

After Charlie’s birth, I was repeatedly told how she was going to be “fine”.  Additionally, many of the preemie books are filled with stories of babies who are born prematurely without long term consequences. None of which, helped me understand and accept our new world. For about the first month and a half, I struggled to feel like things were going to be OK even if she survived.

Fortunately, I had the privilege of meeting and talking with a NICU mom of a baby with a trisomy. We talked about our babies and our babies’ “what ifs”. The discussions facilitated my understanding that things could be OK. She was among a small minority of people willing to discuss complex outcomes.

Following one such discussion with that mom, I spoke with one of Charlie’s special NICU nurses. I explained how I found talking to the other mom to be beneficial. The nurse answered with a story about a gravely ill baby with very limited function. Admittedly, I do not know the point of the story. I partially listened but was distracted with my own thoughts.  As I followed the story, I found myself thinking of all the possible ways the anecdotal baby could interact with the world despite its limitations.

I do not remember how the nurse’s tale ended. I do know that when she finished, I felt better. I realized that no matter what the outcome was for Charlie… she could still have an amazing life. It was then that I decided I would focus on her capabilities.

When Charlie was discharged, no one ever discussed the possibility of further issues. I suppose she was expected to be one of those preemies that catch up quickly and easily. I let myself believe that we were going to have the “normal” baby experience. However, that is not how things worked out. Charlie, (as I had found out later) like many micro preemies, has on going struggles.

Ever since Charlie’s birth, I have wondered several questions. Why is discussion limited to a false dilemma between death and full recovery? Why do I have to consult research literature and other micropreemie parents to find out that Charlie’s outcome is par for the course? Why is there a lack of discussion about outcomes, delays, disabilities, and challenges? Are others aware that silence is more frightening than discussing scenarios and options?

There are advantages to the existence of a dialogue. For example, useful ideas can be spread, the sense of isolation among parents can be reduced, better supports established, parents can be empowered, possibilities explored, and others can gain understanding. It is time that all of the babies are considered.  Let’s talk about it.  playpen

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

5 responses to “Let’s Talk About It

  • Jax Mully

    Yes! I’ve wondered this, too. My son, Jax, was born at 23 weeks. He’s doing remarkably well for a 23 weeker, but I still notice delays that concern me. I’m so thankful he is doing well, but I feel like because he is doing well, that we might miss something important in his development. I agree that it’s either very bad or very good and not much in between.

    Like

  • judy

    Yes! Whenever anyone talks to me and my husband about Agnes’ potential delays, they have a really hard time being specific. Mostly we just know that she will have delays, but no one will tell us how serious they might turn out to be. On the other hand, the geneticist and the neonatologist did tell us that they couldn’t find cases in “the literature” where the kids live longer than late childhood. I guess that’s kind of an in-between prognosis…

    Like

  • Amber Perea

    Couldn’t agree more. My son wasn’t a “micro” (31 weeks) and everyone was like, “he’s great, take him home and live a great life!”.

    3 years later we are knee deep in speech therapists, developmental pediatricians, and neurologists.

    Thanks for the heads up. 😉

    Like

  • lifeoftransition

    good evening. from what I can tell, the medical community is just know figuring out what test administered when is a true indicator of future success. Keep asking, Hopefully you will get answers

    Like

Leave a Reply

