The Rise And Fall Of Charlie

image

Yesterday, Charlie had a big day full of developmental leaps. I was thrilled when she tried hand to mouth feeding for the first time. I was amazed when she attempted to overtake the coffee table. I had to keep from crying when she scaled my lap and climbed into my arms. It was certainly a day for the baby book.

I am not entirely sure what happened before bed. I do know that it was one of those things. From what I have been told, Charlie’s dad was performing her bed time ritual. On the way to the crib, he placed her in the floor to quickly change her crib sheet. He was either unaware of or underestimated Charlie’s new found skills. She seized the opportunity and escaped with a great speed. Before anyone could react, she tumbled down half the staircase.

Charlie seemed unscathed but her dad and I were shaken.

We made a late night visit to the emergency room for reassurance.

Until last night, my husband had always mocked me for having a “go bag”. I keep Charlie’s diaper bag packed and by the door with her medical information close at hand. I am familiar with the location and specialties of all the available Emergency Rooms in the area. Experience has been an excellent teacher in being prepared and making quick decisions. It took us less than a minute to get in the car and head out.

After a head to toe examination, Charlie was deemed unharmed. On the other hand, her dad and I may need some time to recover.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

2 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of Charlie

  • Jody

    Oh my goodness! This happened to us just a week ago! The little man got up at 5:30am and wouldn’t go to bed so I was half asleep and headed to work on washing bottles when I heard some thump thump thumps on the stairs. We have a gate at the top and it is always closed so I didn’t even think to check it. He just seemed surprised at the end and put out a couple of scared cries. His bottom teeth did cut his upper gums or lip and we had some mouth bleed for awhile but other than that he was fine. Mom and dad were definitely more freaked out about it than Xander. Glad Charlie is ok.

    Like

Leave a Reply

