Five Months of Chatter

My blog is five month’s old today. I had not planned on being a “mommy blogger”. My blog is something that just sort of happened. This seems to be the case with many things in life.

Looking back, I think it started in the NICU. March of Dimes had given a NICU themed baby book to me. I simply started filling it out. Soon after, I started attending the March of Dime’s scrap booking sessions for NICU parents at the hospital. The last thing I would predict is that I would enjoy keeping a scrap book. However, it was a wonderful experience for me.  I was amazed to see the documented progress that Charlie made. It was something I could do for her in a time that I felt completely powerless.

From there, I moved on to using Facebook to document things. I quickly realized the Facebook platform did not quite meet my needs. Additionally, I found myself  making extensive comments on other preemie mom blogs (Ain’t No Roller Coaster is one of my favorites). That was my indicator that it was time to start my own.

At first, I was intimidated by the idea. Other than late night rants on BBS, I did not have any writing experience. What would I write about? Could I keep the commitment to regularly blog? How does one set up a blog? Tumblr seemed to be an appropriate jumping off point. Through trial and error, I was able to answer my questions and begin to learn about the blogosphere. In a few months, I was ready to find the right platform for me.

On Charlie’s first birthday, my blog evolved to the one you are currently reading. I continue to learn what I can about writing and blogging. As our lives move forward, I want to say thank you to my followers. I am grateful for your compassion, encouragement, warm thoughts, honesty, support, and feedback. I want to give a shout out to Tatum at Ain’t No Roller Coaster for inspiring me. Through blogging, I have rediscovered my voice. Furthermore, my blog is a written record that I can reference to see how far we have come (sometimes I need that). All the writing that I have been doing has been instrumental for me in the ongoing healing process. At one time, I wondered if healing from something like this was even possible.

Happy Five Months Blog! Yes, we celebrate just about everything in this house 🙂

Charlie’s reaction to the smash cake on her birthday.

981245_10101719332785173_1907432953_o

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

