Fortitude

Forgive me if I am less than eloquent tonight for I am overwhelmed. My thoughts go out to those affected by the explosions in Boston. I hope they find the strength to move forward one day.

That is what my blog has been about. My husband, baby, and I learning to move ahead. After having a micropreemie, we will never be the same. However, we can eventually move beyond it.

If you are among those that believe I am strong, you must know it is only because my friends make me that way. It was a joint effort. It started with those who visited me in the hospital when my preeclampsia was discovered. It continued after Charlie’s extremely premature birth and into her extended NICU stay. I will not forget those who visited, said just the right things, sent thoughtful gifts, and listened.

Even now, it continues. I intentionally set the bar low for our March of Babies team goal. I did not expect anyone to pay attention that we were walking or grasp what it meant to me. I expected to go it alone while dragging my husband along. I did not think we would make our goal. Once again, my friends stepped up and beyond… Crawling out of the woodwork of their busy lives to either walk with us or contribute. I am overcome each time someone sponsors us or joins us to walk. Tonight, we surpassed 200% of our team goal.

I am fortunate to be loved and understood by these amazing people. I know of no words to express the extent of my gratitude. I pray that those affected by the events in Boston (or those enduring tragedy anywhere) have people to aid them in forging ahead.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

