Weird Baby

I’ve noticed that it is either feast of famine when it comes to progress with Charlie’s therapy. Yesterday, it was feast.

Charlie had a very successful OT and feeding therapy session yesterday. Last session, the therapist and I noticed that she liked licking textured things despite gagging on anything that passes the threshold of her lips into her mouth. This knowledge allowed the OT to come up with ideas as she rummaged through her arsenal of items at home.

The OT brought these items yesterday.

image

image

I presented them to Charlie. I held each item individually in front of her lips. As predicted, she stuck out her tongue and licked those items.

The therapist was a little more adventurous and worked them past Charlie’s lips into the very front of her mouth. Charlie grimaced. The stress caused her to tremble. However, she did not gag. I tried with the same result.

I retreated for a moment to give Charlie a second to “reorganize”.

Charlie whimpered.

Could she actually want to try more? I handed her the green item and placed it in front of her mouth. She tried to stick it in her mouth. She grimaced and pulled it out quickly. The odd thing is that she tried it again. She tried a number of times. Each time she would grimace and sometimes she would gag. But, she kept trying.

The OT and I looked at each other. I think we were both wondering what this baby was thinking. I laughed and said, “This is one weird baby.”

After the session, Charlie and I worked with the pacifier looking tool after each time Charlie ate. By evening, Charlie was able to hold it in her mouth for a few seconds.

This is a very big deal. It is one more step towards Charlie actually being able to feast.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

