Where Are ALL The Babies?

On my micro preemie parent’s discussion board, another parent posted a picture of their baby that caught up. I am happy for that baby and those parents. I can not imagine their abundance of joy. However, right now… I’m not interested in those babies.

I know for every baby that catches up there is another one that doesn’t. I want to know where those babies are. I want to hear their stories. I want to hear how they are doing. These babies have fought just as hard as the ones that catch up. Why are they invisible? Why are they not talked about?

While my baby was in the NICU, people thought it was encouraging to tell me how my baby will catch up. Even now, I am still told stories like these with a similar moral. I do not find these stories in the least bit helpful. Why is it so hard to talk about the babies who do not catch up? These are the stories that would actually help me. I want to know that these babies and their families are OK, as well. I want to know even if my baby isn’t one of those super preemies that things will be alright. I want other parents to know that too.

Parents, I want to see your babies (and kids)! I want to hear about your little bundles of joy. Tell me about your life, the challenges they face, and how proud you are of them. I believe that every baby should be celebrated.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

