The Map

Charlie has a child’s map of the world on the wall of her play room. Someone saw it and asked with a smile, “Are you hoping for her to learn geography before she talks?” I smiled back while thinking about how they missed the point completely.

I want her to wonder. Seeing a world map was the first memory that I have of experiencing intrigue… I’m starting my attempt from there. I want her to ask questions. I want an unanswered question to be like an itch that has to be scratched. I want her to be in awe of things.

I want Charlie to understand that she is amazing just for being here. I want her to know that comparing herself to others or concern about what people think is a waste of precious time. I want to teach her for as many people there are in the world there are as many different ways to do things. I want her to see the value of people rather than what they are not. I want her to know that friends are not judgmental nor critical. I want her to laugh in the faces of those that dismiss her.

I want Charlie to realize that there are very few things that can not be fixed. I want Charlie to chase ideas and dreams rather than say, “One day”. I want her to value people and experiences over status and material goods. I want her to see possibilities rather than obstacles. I want her to understand opportunity cost and learn to invest her time wisely. I want her to know that worrying is futile.

I want her to figure out what makes her smile. I want her to discover what moves her. I want her to find satisfaction in her daily life. Mostly, I want her to be happy… Whatever that means to her.

The map in her playroom is only a starting place for what I hope for her.

About Rebecca Wood

In May 2012, my pregnancy ended three and a half months early due to severe early onset preeclampsia. This is my collection of thoughts and media. It is an attempt to document and discuss our experience of navigating the post NICU world. View all posts by Rebecca Wood

Leave a Reply

